Sacred Reich «Live at Wacken» (2012): What you see is what you get

Sacred Reich‘s 1993-masterpiece Independent has been spinning in my CD-player ever since it came out. It is one of my favourite metal albums. It simply speaks to me. Its energy, dynamics, the brilliant lyrics, the overall authenticity, just wow. Put me down as a fan. The band went on to release their future last studio album Heal in 1996 and split up in 2000, but reformed for some live gigs in 2006.

Fast-forward to the 4th of August 2007. Sacred Reich plays the legendary Wacken Festival in Germany in front of 60,000 people and the show gets recorded, however, not yet officially released. Five years later, in 2012, an official DVD+CD finally hits the shelves, hellz yeah!

The live album is phenomenal. It is authentic, full of energy, and includes 12 metal anthems. The band went as far as to include their rendition of Black Sabbath‘s War Pigs. Phil Rind and the guys are simply down-to-earth cool and rock out as if it was a fun jam in their garage.

The band provides a behind scenes segment on the DVD, where the guys are asked about their reunion and so on. Lead guitarist Wiley Arnett says something that summarises the general positive energy I perceive from Sacred Reich: “What you see is what you get.” And I can’t wait to see more from them. Apparently, an album is planned for 2019. Well, let’s spin this DVD a few more times to bridge the waiting.

Live At Wacken includes:

  1. The American Way
  2. Administrative Decisions
  3. One Nation
  4. Love… Hate
  5. Ignorance
  6. Crimes Against Humanity
  7. Who’s To Blame
  8. State Of Emergency
  9. War Pigs (Black Sabbath cover)
  10. Independent
  11. Death Squad
  12. Surf Nicaragua

Sacred Reich Live at Wacken (2012)

Sebastiano Mereu

YouTuber + host of the #FHTZ online music show with co-producer @simonkurt + marketing & digital content producer + university lecturer